Wednesday 26, 2017
12:30 – 1:30pm
Long Beach Convention & Entertainment Center- Room 104A
Long Beach, CA

1) Call to Order – Palasis
Dr. Palasis called the meeting to order at 12:30pm.

2) Secretary’s Report – Vossough
Dr. Vossough called for approval of the May 23, 2016 Annual Business Meeting Minutes.  The Minutes were approved.

3) Treasurer’s Report – Eckel
Dr. Eckel reported that as of February 28, 2017 theSociety Cash Asset Balance of $306,722 included $99,725 in the Chase Bank Checking account, and $206,997 in the Chase Bank Money Market account.

Accounts Receivable of $50,489 represented $22,070 owed from ASNR for 2016/2017 membership renewal payments made via credit card between July 11, 2016 and February 28, 2017 and $28,230 in projected 2017 membership renewal payments yet to be received.

Accounts Payable of $8,656 included expenses incurred by ASNR to be billed to ASPNR, and for payment of the ASNR administrative management fee.

Deferred Income of $38,438 represented membership dues revenue to be allocated to Income throughout the balance of 2017.

The Society ended the first ten months of 2017 with an Excess of Revenue over Expenses in the amount of $7,995, thereby increasing the Society’s Fund Balance to $310,413.

4) Committee Reports
        a. Program – Palasis
Dr. Palasis reported that there was a full pediatric spine course during the ASSR 2017 Annual Symposium in February.  This past
Saturday’s Foundation of the ASNR Symposium included a session on “What’s New in Pediatric Neuroimaging.”  This morning’s
program featured a session entitled“Making the Call: Abusive CNS Trauma” presented in collaboration with ASPNR and ESNR.

Pediatric sessions were also featured during ESNRs 2016 meeting in Belgrade and will be featured during the meeting in Malmo, September 14-17, 2017.

Functional pediatric topics will be included in program schedule at the ASFNR 11th Annual Meeting, October 9-11, 2017 in Portland, Oregon.

        b. Membership – Palasis
Dr. Palasis reported that currently there are 439 members of ASPNR, an increase of 36 as compared to last year’s total.

        c. Nominating – Panigraphy
Dr. Panigraphy reported the following nominees for office:

  • V. Michelle Silvera- Treasurer
  • David M. Mirsky- Member-at-Large

Dr. Laura V. Hayes was nominated from the floor for the position of Member of the Nominating Committee.

        d. Research – Vossough
Dr. Vossough recognized Dr. Kristen Yeom from Lucille Packard Children’s Hospital, Stanford University as the recipient of the 2017 Annual Award in Pediatric Neuroradiology Research for Radiogenomic Approaches to Non-Invasive Molecular Subtyping of Pediatric Posterior Fossa Ependymomas.  The Award carries with it a total of $17,500 cash award for research and education.  Dr. Vossough thanked the research committee reviewers.  He encouraged members to donate to the Award fund when they renew their membership.

Dr. Vossough then recognized the 2016 Derek Harwood-Nash Best Paper recipient, Dr. Paul A. Caruso from Massachusetts General Hospital for The Effect of Early MRI in the Management of Children with Head Injury Requiring Admission to the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit.

5) New Business – Palasis
        a. Committees
Dr. Palasis thanked the 2016-2017 committee members, with special recognition to the Website and Informatics Committee members, Drs. Vossough (Chair), Silvera and Hayes for their on the website redesign.  She reported that the following new committees have been formed for 2017-2018:

  • Gold Medal
  • Ad Hoc International Collaborations
  • Ad Hoc Website and Informatics
  • Ad Hoc International Outreach
  • Ad Hoc Rules
  • Ad Hoc Membership

Coming soon will be monthly ASPNR video conferences and the 3-day ASPNR 1st Annual Meeting to be held in the fall of 2018 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

        b. Dr. Poretti Remembrance
Dr. Tekes presented a memorial to Dr. Poretti who passed away unexpectedly in March.

        c. Installation of New Officers
Dr. Palasiscalled for a vote to approve the following nominees.  All were approved.

  • V. Michelle Silvera for Treasurer
  • David M. Mirsky for Member-at-Large
  • Laura V. Hayes for Member of the Nominating Committee

6) Outgoing President Presentation
Dr. Panigrahy presented the ASPNR Past-President’s plaque to Dr. Palasis and thanked her for all her efforts on behalf of the society over the past year.

7) Adjournment – Palasis
Dr. Palasis adjourned the meeting was adjourned at 12:45pm.

2017 Gold Medal Presentation
Dr. Caroline D. Robson gave a presentation on the life of 2017 Gold Medal recipient Dr. Tina Young Poussaint.  She then asked Dr. Young Poussaint to come to the podium. After which, along with Dr. Palasis, presented Dr. Young Poussaint with the 2017 Gold Medal. Dr. Young Poussaint made closing comments including, thanking the Society for all their support over the years.

Respectfully submitted,

Ken Cammarata, Business Manager

for Arastoo Vossough, MD, PhD, Secretary