Gold Medal Award


The Gold Medal Award is the American Society of Pediatric Neuroradiology’s (ASPNR’s) highest honor. It is bestowed on distinguished individuals in recognition of extraordinary, notable, and prestigious achievements and contributions in the field of pediatric neuroradiology. Professional contributions may be in areas of research, clinical care, teaching and mentorship, and service.  

Individuals are physician radiologists. Candidates are not required to be an ASPNR member and may hail from any country.   Nominees should have made extraordinary contributions to enhance the development and/or stature of pediatric neuroradiology, including service to the ASPNR and its membership.  

Current Directors of the ASPNR Board, members of the Gold Medal Award Committee, any Board Director within 3 years of having served on the ASPNR Board of Directors, any faculty member in the department of the Gold Medal Award Committee Chairperson, and any person who has previously received the ASPNR’s Gold Medal Award are ineligible for nomination.  The Gold Medal will not be awarded posthumously, except in the instance when the nominee’s demise occurs in the interval between the time of selection as a Gold Medalist and the annual meeting at which the Gold Medal is scheduled to be awarded.

Only ASPNR Members or Associate Members in good standing may submit nominations.

ASPNR’s inaugural Gold Medal Award was presented in 2006. Before that, from 2000-2004, the ASPNR presented a Special Recognition Award. In 2005, that award was replaced with the Gold Medal Award. Below is a list of past recipients of ASPNR's Gold Medal and Special Recognition Awards.



Ashok Panigrahy, MD

2023 Andrea Rossi, MD
2022 Patricia Ellen Grant, MD
2020 and 2021 No Gold Medal Award was given due to the COVID-19 Pandemic  
2019 Gilbert Vézina, MD
2018 E. Ralph Heinz MD, FACR
2017 Tina Young Poussaint, M.D.
2016 Paolo Tortori-Donati, M.D.
2015 Nolan R. Altman, M.D.
2014 Marjo S. van der Knapp, M.D., PhD
2013 Susan I. Blaser, M.D.
2012 Jacob Valk, M.D., PhD
2011 Marvin D. Nelson, M.D.
2010 Charles A. Raybaud, M.D.
2009 William S. Ball, Jr., M.D.
2008 Larissa Bilaniuk, M.D.
2007 Joseph R. Thompson, M.D.  
2006 A. James Barkovich, M.D.
2005 No Award  


ASPNR Special Recognition Award Recipients

2004 Samuel M. Wolpert, M.D.  
2003 Hervey D. Segall, M.D.
2002 Robert A. Zimmerman, M.D.
2001 Charles Fitz, M.D.
2000 Thomas P. Naidich, M.D.